Chrysler Group

With its headquarters in Auburn Hills, Detroit, Chrysler Group LLC was initially formed as the Chrysler Corporation by Walter Chrysler in 1925, operating for a period of time as part DaimlerChrysler AG, before its transition first to Chrysler LLC, and in 2009 to Chrysler Group LLC. Fiat holds a 20 percent stake of Chrysler Group, with the option of increasing this in the future, and Chrysler LLC sold most of its assets to Chrysler Group LLC – often referred to as the "New Chrysler". As of the beginning of 2010, Chrysler was owned by the United Auto Workers Union Voluntary Employee Beneficiary Association with 67.69 percent, the US Government with 9.85 percent, Fiat with 20 percent and Canadian governmental authorities with 2.46 percent.

Vehicle brands manufactured and service supported by Chrysler include Dodge, Chrysler, Jeep, RAM and GEMCAR or Global Electric Motorcars. Dodge and Chrysler both feature passenger cars, minivans and crossover utility vehicles, while Jeep specializes in SUVs and crossovers, RAM focuses on trucks and commercial vehicles and GEMCAR produces battery powered electric low-speed vehicles. Also under the Chrysler Group’s umbrella are Mopar and Mopar Performance, a division providing replacement parts for Chrysler-built vehicles, as well as Chrysler Financial services.

In line with the world-wide call to fight global warming, Chrysler is reportedly putting resources into the development of energy efficient vehicles, including the Dodge ZEO (Zero Omissions Operation), Dodge Durango, Dodge Ram, Chrysler ecoVoyager, Chrysler Aspen and Ram Hemi pickup. Chrysler is a limited liability company, no longer trading on the stock exchange. Effective December 15, 2014,Chrysler Group LLC is now FCA US LLC.

back to Companies